top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt Houchin

Just Make Something (Part 2)

Happy Sunday, church! It's sermon time!


Last week we talked about why the internet sucks if you’re a person who likes to be creative, (or dreams of being creative.) (You know, normal sermon stuff.) The first reason was that it has made a lot of people feel like the goal of creating something should be views, likes, monetization, etc. (when the joy should just be in the creating.)

The second reason, which we'll be diving into this week, is that there are so. many. people. out there who seem to enjoy tearing down anyone attempting to be creative.



Chances are if you’re making something, your inner critic is already hard at work telling you whatever you’re working on is crap. (Like what’s happening now, in my brain, as I type this.) Now, if you choose to share your creation with the world, the internet opens you up to potentially billions of other random critics.


There have always been trolls who respond to specific pieces of content; people who see something they don’t like and feel the need to take the time to publicly insult it. (My personal favorite are the people who comment on Ross and my Nickelback video* saying I’m a bad singer. Honestly I thought I sounded pretty great, and if you watch it, I’m sure you’ll agree.)


But lately there seems to be a growing movement making fun of people who might want to create something in general. Instead of waiting to attack you personally about something specific you have created, they are working overtime to plant the seeds of doubt early so no one ever creates anything again. Here are some example tweets:





If you are a person who does this. Why? Because it's uncool to create something from nothing? GTFO.


But more importantly, if you are a person thinking about starting a podcast, a TikTok, a light language video (or whatever), don't listen to these people! I don’t even know what a light language video is, but I definitely think you should make one if that's what you want to do. (Especially if you're Vladimir Putin - you need some new hobbies.)

Full disclosure: this is personal to me, as I am one of the world's worst people who did start a podcast. So allow me to get defensive for a moment. Starting a podcast is one of my favorite things I’ve ever done, and I think everyone should make one. You can do whatever you want creatively, and it costs zero dollars. (If you want advice on how to start one, please feel free to reach out. Seriously.) If people don't want to listen to it, it's very easy to not listen to (much easier than not listening to all the critics, including our inner one.)


The Bible says that along with creating the world, God created mankind in his own image. So why not go out and create some worlds of your own?


~Rev. Matthew R. Houchin

#ordained Minister

Universal Life Church


*Some may be thinking, "But Matt, aren't you making fun of Nickelback in that Nickelback video? And then telling us not to make fun of things people create? That's hypocritical." I will forever maintain I am not making fun of Nickelback. I think they make fun, catchy pop music that appeals to millions (including me), which is extremely hard to do and worthy of respect. Feel free to argue in the comments below.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

OMG

bottom of page