top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt Houchin

Being a minister is hard

Three weeks ago I gave my first sermon as an #ordained minister, when I performed the wedding ceremony of my friends Jessica and Patrick.


The next week I posted my second sermon to Facebook. Last week, my third.


I really thought I could keep this up every single week, but I’m learning that being a reverend isn’t just like, super easy. I guess they don’t teach you that in reverend school — at least not in the non-existent one that I never attended.


So in lieu of today’s sermon, I want to take this time to recognize two pastors who made a huge difference in my life, Reverend Dennis M Oglesby and Minister Steven Belton (pictured below stealing the show from the bride and groom that one time I got married)


Somehow they’ve managed to do this job for years and years, while also finding one-on-one time for me, along with countless others. They’ve listened to me, inspired me, guided me, and provided a comfortable space to ask any questions I had as I wrestled with the sometimes seemingly impossible work of faith. On top of all that, they're also two of the funniest and most talented people I know. (Still waiting on their duets album that so far only exists in my dreams...)

They’ve both been role models and father figures to me. Dennis even introduces me to others as his son, and one time for Christmas I sent out holiday cards posing as Steven (and his wife Sharon’s) son.


I consider myself extremely lucky to be able to call them my friends, and I’m truly grateful to have them in my life.


Who are you thankful for today?


~"Rev." Matthew R. Houchin #Ordained Minister



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page